how do you decide what to read next?

lately i've been having a super hard time deciding what to read next. i alternate between having a pile of books to read - usually only five at a time or so - to having a totally blank slate. i have a rough idea of when my review books need to be done, but not nearly as organized or well thought out of a list as i could have...

so i'm curious. how do you decide what to read next?


after about a week or so, i'll write a follow up post for this poll to chat about the results and maybe even set some goals for myself.

suggestions/pointers/encouragement/insight/random blatherings are welcome, per usual.

Lisa is a gamer, crafter, fangirl, mother, wife and unabashed nerd who is pretty ridiculous and it's best you know that up front. When she's not binge watching Netflix or crafting into the wee hours of the night, you can find her spending a lot of her time on Pinterest and Twitter.

8 comments:

  1. I usually read based on what needs to be reviewed when, unfortunately. I would much rather just read whatever strikes my mood.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just read what I feel like. It makes me happy. :)

    If I have a review book, I try to read it in the time frame that it needs to be, but only when I actually feel like it, otherwise I end up not liking it. I don't get books for review all that much though.

    Great topic! Looking forward to the results. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Just recently I've made a list of books that I need to read during a certain month. Sometimes I change it around; I'm pretty willy nilly with the list, I make changes to it constantly, but it does help a bit with remembering what I need to read to review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I could never make a list like some people do. I think that is super-organized, but I'm not that organized. So I always have to have a BUNCH of books on hand...and when I'm done with one, I just have to browse the stacks and see what jumps out at me that day. What I might pick next right this minute is most likely different than what I would've picked first thing this morning or later this afternoon, etc.

    I am wishy-washy in my book moods, and it shows with how I flip-flop genres. Occasionally, if a review date is thrown in there, I have to make a plan for that particular book, but usually it is a total toss-up for what is next with me. Excellent question! I have always felt disorganized in the way I choose what is next, but it is very comfortable and familiar to me at the same time. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. As I hear about books that interest me, I pull the ARCS off my shelf and into a pile. I try to stack them in priority order, but sometimes skip the line for an impulse read.

    ReplyDelete
  6. april - you do what i SHOULD do.
    jennifer - i honestly need to be more selective with my review books so i can read what i want WHEN i want and not have the nagging feeling i'm leaving other books out...you're so wise.
    jac - your idea sounds pretty fabs. i may have to take that on...
    asheley - i wish i had your confidence in my process like you do with yours!
    rachel - i always be skipping books due to impulse and then speedreading review books. :/

    you ladies are so smart. i luff it.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I make a list of what books I would like to read during a given month and from there I usually choose based on mood, or commitment (whether it a read along or ARC). Sometimes though, by end of given month, I did not read one book on the list because I went with mood all the way.

    I suppose, for your above poll, I do both - list and mood.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm apparently a weird person because I use a list...or rather, a stack, which is essentially my list. :)

    ReplyDelete

Hey you! What do you have to say?